Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 7 of 11 1 2 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
D
DaB35 Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I do recognise that to outsiders reading this, it is shocking. I am ashamed of what I have done and to have hurt my W in this way.

I hate that I did it and never got help.

But, I am getting help now and it's WORKING. I have had no desire to look at any such sites for 3 months now and that is really helping me stay positive. I'm just getting into a state now where it doesn't even enter my head as a "well I could look, one little peek won't hurt anyone." I simply don't think about it.

Instead I read, catch up on my hobby (I write music and play), I talk to my mates on facebook or text (don't worry, I've hidden my W's profile!), exercise, go for walks, watch TV, help my sister walk her dog, etc.

Me - 36, W - 32
No kids
T - 8 yr, M - 3 yr
Discovery - 14 May 2019
S - 25 May 2019 & D bomb - 29 July 2019
D & House sale final - Feb 2020
U
U
Originally Posted by Dan35
I do recognise that to outsiders reading this, it is shocking. I am ashamed of what I have done and to have hurt my W in this way.

Dan,

It is not all that shocking. Don't beat yourself up, that mindset can limit your personal growth.

You mention feeling ashamed. Once you dig into NMMNG you will understand why I say what comes next. There is a fundamental difference between feeling shame, regret, and remorse. Those 3 are different emotions.

Shame: "I am fundamentally bad." -> very hard to make personal progress in this mindset
Regret: "I really wish I didn't do that."
Remorse: "I really wish I didn't do that, because I recognize how much I hurt that other person and the pain they must feel."

The most difficult aspect of remorse is empathizing with the other person's version of reality when you don't agree with it.

I hate that I did it and never got help.

Fair enough, but you will need to get over the self-loathing stage. I think you are taking some good steps now.