Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 6 of 11 1 2 4 5 6 7 8 10 11
C
C
Originally Posted By: JRuss
I am definitely looking forward to the trip with the kids. Hopefully the weather is good. They should have a blast.

This is all you need to care about, which you know fully and completely at this point in your game. Above you express the right attitude, the right priorities, and the right people.

I really continue to struggle, as I always have, with detaching. As both of you know, it's hard to do when you live under the same roof.

JRuss,
For me, I am glad live-in ended, regardless of what will be. I will say though, reading what I quoted from you. It made me want to share this...I work with trees for a living. Trees fascinate me. One of the amazing traits of trees - if a tree is wounded, the wound remain for life. Tree compartmentalize their wounds, that is to say, the wound is sealed off to prevent further damage to the overall structure, but the damage remains inside as the body continues to grow. In time, all physical remnants of the damage become small fissures on the outside, unnoticed by the untrained. This is because trees generate cells, they do not regenerate cells. In mammals, they get injured, damage cells are replaced and sometimes result in scars where cells are not efficient. In trees, they get injured, damaged cells remain, new cells cover them up. Trees only put new growth in places where reinforcement is required, no energy is wasted, e.g. the wind blows hard, micro-fractures occur inside, new cells are produced to reinforce. These new cells make the locations of old wounds stronger.