Young kids
Nov 2015: BD1
Apr 2016: BD2
Jan 2017: W filed
Feb 2017: D final
B
B
Hi MB,

I am sorry you are here. You will get some great support and advice from these awesome people here. All of us have been through it or are going through it in one way or another. I am a few years down the line and my H has been back for 16 months, so I came here not because I am an expert, but because I struggled to follow the DB principles and I can now see how that worked against me.

Just to share with you, my H had depression too as our family life became very chaotic for years. He was having an EA with a mutual friend who was heavily pursuing him. I was shocked, we split, and I fell hard. They had a full blown R for almost a year and I was a mess. Well wouldn't you know she didn't actually "make" him happy (no one does right?) and he was more miserable than he had ever been. So he did a sharp 180, worked on himself, and here we are a couple years later. It's still hard and I am still working on forgiveness. He always was and is a great father and I think that shines through in his favor, as I have thought about giving up at times.

So I am telling you all of this now because I want you to know I understand your pain, devastation, and anxiety about the future. Allow yourself to feel sad, angry, and go through every emotion you have. Gather a solid support system and go to them and let them be there for you. Do not turn to H, let him know your feelings, or expect anything from him--he cannot and will not be there for you and it will only hurt you more.