Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2692738 07/26/16 02:17 PM
K
kml Offline OP
OP Offline
K
No - nothing to do with my ex, and nothing to do with Mr. Tall, Dark and Handsome (who is still a gem).

But it's surprising how similar some of the emotions are.

As many of you know, I've been playing drums in a band for the last 5 years. Singers have come and gone but the two guitarists and I have been together that long and have been friends, going to shows together etc. Finally last year we got a new singer who is pretty good.

We've all grown a lot as musicians during this time. We've been playing some gigs out lately and although I wouldn't claim to be a perfect professional drummer yet, I easily play drums as well as the lead guitarist plays guitar, and at our performances, people come up to fist-bump me and a gay couple came up to tell me they thought I was "FABulous". Several knowledgeable people have told me that my stage presence was the best in the band.

And despite my uber-busy work schedule, I always make it to practice every week. No drama, always cheerful.

Just got back from a 2 week vacation to hear that the band has decided to go with a more accomplished drummer. frown

Now, granted - they WOULD be a better band with a better drummer. (We'd also be a better band with a better lead guitarist, or a better singer, or.....). I certainly wasn't dragging anybody down.

Still, I know it is the nature of bands to break up and always anticipated it would end someday (just thought it would be due to one of the guys having a heart attack - they both have heart problems). I'm a good enough and experienced enough drummer now that I can find a new band to play with, although it will be difficult to find as good a match.