Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 8 of 11 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 11
Underdog #2634248 12/23/15 04:53 AM
C
claire7 Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Thanks, Betsey, for the recommendations. I am looking forward to the holiday... excited to have time off from work, and lots of quality time with D(now 5!), but also a bit stressed to have her for the next week on my own. Feel like there is so much to do and no time to do it, and here I am awake at midnight. Sigh.

I've been thinking the last couple of days that I may be reaching a new place in my mindset. There is still grief, but it feels...different somehow. The holidays and my D's birthday hit me really hard this year. As I sent her off to celebrate with her father, I was struck with a really deep sadness, I think magnified by the realization that this is the new normal. I mean, I've been missing out on time with her for the last two years... but I think up until very recently I still had some hope. I think I've finally let go of that, and so there is a new level of grief to process. Does that make any sense?

On the other hand, letting go for good has helped me interact with him more positively. I've responded to a few of his recent (typically long and over-explanatory and slightly anxiety-ridden) emails with lightheartedness. Easy-breezy. I am not the same overly-anxious woman he married. Somehow it's easier to be this way when I just don't really give a F anymore what he does. Because he hasn't changed all that much in positive ways, and I want someone better than him next time round.

At least, that's where I'm at today. I'll take tomorrow as it comes.

Me 38 H 40
D 3
T 8 M 6
BD 10/2013

claire7 #2634868 12/25/15 08:23 PM
C
claire7 Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hope everyone is having a happy holiday. Just had to share. ..

Stbx texted asking if he could speak to D.
As they were talking, D asked, "where are you daddy?"
"Where am i? I'm at a friends house"
"Who is it?"
"You don't know them."
"That's ok daddy, I can still know their name"