Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Danigirl #2555423 04/08/15 07:31 PM
S
S
Thanks for being candid. I am going to ask a very personal question, but certainly not uncommon here on the board. His dentistry needs, is that preventing intimacy now? If so, how long has it been?

Quote:
Can I accept him the way he is. I guess my answer is No. There are certain things I understand and accept. However, not seeing a dentist (and ultimately never kissing or being intimate again in my life), as well as not protecting me and the family with life insurance, how does one just accept that?

So, you are not getting several needs met. Lack of intimacy and security. As things stand, you probably feel no attraction for him, and the respect is shot. Those two areas are so important in a M.

Just curious, b/c I have zero knowledge about hypnotherapy, but would that help him in overcoming his fear about seeing a doctor, etc.? I suppose he would have to cooperate, in order for it to be effective. smirk Ugh!

Quote:
Again, he didn’t really make many changes, and always slipped back to his ‘normal’ self.

His track record is all you have to measure any future outcome, right? I know how discouraging that is.

Let's talk about detaching. When most newcomers first arrive and get the advice to detach, they think of physically detaching. Sometimes it may be necessary to physically pull away, but it is mainly a mental detachment from the other spouse. Detaching is to protect yourself from the affect he is having on you at this time. It is an attitude more than anything else. It's a way of thinking. You do not have to pull back from your family. If he's among the others in the room, you don't have to leave simply b/c he's there. I am going to copy & paste a post from a former member that give a very detailed description. I think it will better explain to you what detaching is all about.

Quote: