Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
T
twl142 Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I'm new to the DB Forum and am not sure if I'm posting this in the right place or whether my marriage is beyond all hope of saving.

H moved oversees to work in Aug 11. Starting from Oct 11 our relationship started to deteriorate really quickly. When he came home for Christmas he was completely physically and emotionally withdrawn. He told me things no longer felt right and he needed some time and space to decide what he wanted to do. I asked him if he was involved with anyone else and he said no.

He returned back to work in Jan. I tried to respect his request for time and space and would send him a short, upbeat email every 5-7 days. He would send a similar style reply every 10-14 days. Apart from one phone call where he told me he would be cutting short his April visit with me to spend time with a friend in London we did not speak.

Between Jan-Mar I went on a major self-improvement kick. I acknowledged how I contributed to issues in my marriage (e.g. being critical, taking him for granted, not showing him how much I appreciated him) and started making a number of positive personal changes. I completed a teaching English course, kept myself busy with work, friends, exercise, hobbies and did some redecorating to the house. I also spoke with a couple of different counsellors and read numerous self-help books.