Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 12
N
Navyguy Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Hello everyone, here's my story. I thank you all in advance for the time and care you put into this board. It really seems like a special community. I have a WAW which I still love dearly.

I am a 31 y/o civil engineer military officer, my wife is a 30 y/o homemaker. We met in September 2001, and got married in April 2004. Neither of us had much previous relationship experience. We have been through a lot together, and I want us back together more than anything. Since we were married, we have had 2 absolutely wonderful kids, D5 and S2, lived in 5 different houses, and I did 2 6-month deployments.

I think she has been unhappy since our daughter was born. She had (and still is) completely detached from me and has had the wall up ever since. She has never been good at communicating, and I think that comes from her childhood, she had a very emotionally/physically abusive father. She has always kept everything bottled up, and the few times she did try to talk to me about her unhappiness (which I now know was very difficult for her) I always came up with excuses which ended up making her feel bad and she would give up, resent me for it, and then act happy again for 6-12 months until she tried talking to me about it again. Of course, I always thought it was a little thing and was clueless to the fact that I was destroying our marriage.

My wife sent me an ILYBINILY-type e-mail while I was deployed to Afghanistan in May 2009. That is when I finally realized that she was truly unhappy. There were tons of warning signs and I missed them all...I have no excuse for that other than inexperience and ignorance. I have devoted my life to working on becoming a better husband and father since I got that devastating e-mail.