Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
U
Unbowed Offline OP
OP Offline
U
I’ve read DR. I’m a recovering “Nice Guy” trying to figure out what stage of DR to apply- is it full blown LRT time? I’m currently implementing a modified 180, just trying to do things differently. My story:

My history:

Married for 17 years to the same woman, together for 24 years. The last three have been hell.

We met each other at 19. Moved out together, formed a great partnership. Early on, it seemed important for her to make the decisions; she acted like she wanted a sensitive man. So I worked hard to be “fair” to her. To please her. Classic nice guy stuff. Early on, we set up a co-dependant relationship, she was super clingy, wanting to go out with me when I wanted to go out with my friends. Not giving me space. I didn’t set boundaries—I really wanted her to be happy. We were inseparable and I felt we were taking on the world together.
We moved to LA together, I got my law degree, she her MD. All seemed great.

After our first child, 12 years into our relationship, she became more and more critical of me, lashing out. Pointing out my faults. I, the dutiful husband didn’t fight, back but let her walk all over me. After all, she was stressed from working to be a doctor and the guilt of long hours away from our child. We moved from LA, and made the decision that I would stay at home and work part time and take care of the kids. I don’t regret it for the kids’ sake, but it had a negative impact on our relationship. I became more and more devoted to helping her reach her career goals and helping keep the family going. But I was on auto-pilot in my own career, thinking only of how to help her. Not developing my own friends in our new life.