Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 10 11
V
V
OK, JellyB

This is the way I see it a little reframe

This is what I tell myself:

Think about a baby starting to walk, it falls over, shuffles on its bottom, grabs hold of the sofa, staggers, cries, falls over. We don't say, my goodness stop that baby from walking it's no good at it?

So it is with anything new we are like that baby we are going to fall over, be imperfect, and so what?

Mainly it's with strangers we don't have to see them again.

If we say to others who seem to know- I have never done this before and I am willing to learn then all of those I would value say, you are doing well, can I help, shall I demonstrate how to....

Most people are more concerned about what you think of them than what they think of you

It's a little like jumping into a cold swimming pool, just jump in without thinking about it. No chance to change your mind so don't give yourself space and time to change your mind, if there is a risk you will. I did a parachute jump for charity and a bungee jump for a dare. I went climbing a wall with a friend, made a commitment and couldn't back out. Take a deep breath and jump in, the water is warm once you are in.

Go girl

I don't have to do it again if I don't want to

Is there a trial session before I commit to it?

Are you new to this too?

I remember when I learned to do something new like Tango, I booked a workshop and mixed with the newbies, isn't funny that in lessons people are there to learn and improve. That's why they are called lessons.

-----------------------------