Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
O
O
I'll share what I've learned over the years about weight control. I've never been seriously overweight, but have always been about 10-20 lbs overweight (mainly in the gut). My W is a nutrition major and personal trainer so we've spent a lot of time over the years on this topic.

My W (and me too, now) are firm believers in PORTION CONTROL. We don't diet, we eat what we want (mostly, but not always healthy), but now we really watch the amount we put in our mouths. It really makes a difference. The other comment I'll make is that you ARE going to feel hungry, especially in the beginning because you're cutting your calorie intake, and you just need to get used to that. It feels worse at first, but after a while, your stomach seems to shrink down (I'm not a doctor, so don't exactly know) and eating less actually doesn't feel so bad.

Here are a couple ideas if you struggle with weight control. I'm sure you've heard most of these before. Bottom line is there's no silver bullet -- the diets don't work. Just eat balanced meals, don't cut out all your fun foods, and eat less.

> When you make a plate for yourself, don't let the different foods touch -- make sure you can see some plate between the food!

> Eat slowly and don't take seconds. If your still hungry, drink a large glass of water.

> If you snack a lot, the food producers are coming out with ice cream bars, breakfast bars, etc..., that are only 100 calories a piece. Take one, and only one, and enjoy it.

> I've found that trying to cut out all snacks and fun foods does not work. Just try cutting back how much you have and you'll see a difference.

> Take a smaller bowl or plate. When I want a snack at night, I use either a coffee cup or a salsa dish (about 1/4 to 1/2 cup in size) and put my snack in there. Only about 1 scoop of ice cream fits, or about 15 chips, so that's all I end up having.