Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 124 of 125 1 2 122 123 124 125
M
mb28 Offline OP
OP Offline
M
He is classic passive aggresive. Even our fist therapist told us that.

He is an iron worker by trade, so he does build stuff. He was going to school to be an engineer, but then changed to become a pilot. His love is flying. However, he has let that go for the last 4 years, which I think has been a huge factor in his crisis.

Together 16 years
Married 12 years
Me 36
H 34
D9 & S6
Separated 12/3/09
Confirmed A 1/25/10
Exposed A 1/26/10
H hired L, but not filed yet 1/27/10
A
A
Working is his trade, but flight is his passion... ironic methinks?

A
A
This is from Phil McGraw's website :

You may find some of this useful, particularly the first two - try to read them from both yours and your H's position, its an interesting exercise :

Healing starts from within.
Part of the problem in many relationships is that neither partner is willing to take ownership of their mistakes. Dr. Phil tells Chris and Stacy, "If you're going to heal a relationship in a family, it starts with you." He advises the couple to be introspective, and face the personal barriers that have prevented them from moving their marriage forward. Ask yourself: How do you contribute to or contaminate your relationship?

Face your control issues.
Dr. Phil tells Stacy that she damages her relationship with Chris because she feels the need to maintain a "death grip" on her marriage. He observed that her control issues stem from a need to protect herself so that she doesn't get hurt. "At times, that goes so far as, 'Get them before they get me,'" he explains. "Trust in others has so much to do with how much confidence and trust we have in ourselves." Often this includes letting go of the need for hypervigilance, and getting real about our fears.

Give yourself credit.