Thank you Gerda. I was wondering how you are doing and what you’re up to. Glad you are getting some time away at the cabin.

For my daughter’s birthday - her now being a home owner - I got her a cordless impact driver and hammer drill. Good quality tools that will last a lifetime. The same brand name I’ve been using for three decades. Heck, I’m still using the same tools. Although the hand grips are becoming quite worn down. Some of the fatherly talk I passed in to her: Good quality tools.

I also got her a set of hand tools. One of those 500 piece sets with all kinds of tools, plus drill bits, screw driver bits, and so on. Much more quantity over quality in this case. Again, the fatherly talk was some of the tools that you find you use often, buy those as good ones. Lots of these you’ll likely never even touch in your entire life. Invest into that which is utilized.

She is working on lots of projects and upgrades in her abode and yard. When her and I have done a few fixes around her place, and she’s paid close attention and asked questions. It is interesting the shift in one when they become home owners rather than renters. Now a garbage can or shower head is an excellent gift. Lol.

There are times I realize, I’m teleported back, to me working side by side with my Dad. Such importance this mentoring. And yes, as child gets older and moves away, those times become far less. The projects in these next years, the time side by side, are pure gold - for both. I, of course, could not see the depth of that when I was the youngster working with my Dad.

My second oldest son has also become a recent homeowner. In fact, I am going there this weekend to help him build a shed. Loading up my tools. And preparing for his upcoming birthday. Son and I have talked, and he would much appreciate such quality tools as well.

My oldest and his GF have owned their house for a while now. And yes, I have easy gift ideas for them too. smile