Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 7 of 10 1 2 5 6 7 8 9 10
B
B
Lois,

I dont know for sure if you have any equity in your house. However, instead of walking away, if you decide you cant keep the house, you may want to try a "deed in lieu of foreclosure". I work in the finance industry and it could save you and the mortgage company lots of time and money. Basically, you just sign the deed over to the bank and they agree to take it and sell the house. It is a way to skip over the foreclosure mess.

M42 W40
T17
M15
S13 S11
BD 7-14
A discovered 7-14
WAW moved out 10-3-14
D final 2-23-15
L
LoisB Offline OP
OP Offline
L
There's little to no equity in the place.

Thanks Mighty, I appreciate the information. How is NY law on child visitation/child support enforcement? I've learned through Wishing how tough Wisconsin is...

I'm leaning towards filing for temp. child support (I was told by my atty that I can't file for temp alimony unless I file for divorce)...then, I can expect $400 per month, I can move, hand this back over to Smokey if he chooses to file...ask around for a good atty in NY. I will have plenty of resources in terms of finding a good attorney...get d12 into counseling, yadda, yadda...

I know I'm going to get screwed financially, but, at this point, maybe it's worth the piece of mind in being further away and able to start fresh.

I'm angry with my attorney though. I didn't expect this today. I feel it was a bit unfair. He knows our situation and that I'm starting a new job. I get the impression he just wants rid of this one.

"You know, it's times like these when I realize what a superhero I am." Tony Stark/Iron Man

“Focus on what you can do, then do it with all your heart.” Lois Wilson
L
LoisB Offline OP
OP Offline
L
...mainly because of Smokey's slow attorney. He sees the writing on the wall and sees this move will only be the beginning in a complicated, lengthy divorce.