Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
qoe100 #1397195 03/22/08 12:32 AM
Well, I'm no expert, that's for sure. I've only had one post D "relationship" and that only lasted about a month. I can say without a doubt that he was NOT the one. I felt numb with him for sure. At first I had the nervous jitters and all that, but it turns out that it was only because it was the first R to happen for me and it felt so exciting, he didn't inspire me.

Now I'm treading lightly into another possible R with someone who I simply can't tell yet how I feel. Internet dating is weird that way--you are sort of thrown into a dating situation right off the bat rather than knowing someone as friends, building an attraction, etc. Dating in the age of the internet is certainly different than how things were 20 years ago.

But the other thing Steve is that we are in it for different reasons than we were 20+ years ago. We're no longer looking to start a family. As for me, I make it pretty clear to a man I want to date that I don't think I want to marry again although I would like a committed long term relationship. If he's lookingt o marry, then he should probably move on. For me, marriage at this point in my life seems somewhat redundant. YOu know in France and other European countries, marriage is becoming much less common. There are plenty examples of couples who stay together for decades without wedding. Anyway, I've had a very wonderful love and marriage and family with my ex--so, been there, done that. I'm looking for something different.

I don't know for sure what "different" relationship is yet, but I know that I don't want to fall into something familiar out of habit.