Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 9 of 13 1 2 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
JJ- keep the mine open, I keep sending those prospectors here where the ore is rich and plentiful. C2H [Big Grin]

[ May 16, 2002, 05:05 PM: Message edited by: Committed2Him ]

Committed2Him- "C2H"
All Things (Back from Spain!)...18
This is to JJ. I'm new to the thread and read your post of May 9, 2002, I believe, (when I clicked here, that link disappeared)where you refer to a post about "Letting Go." In that passage is this statement:

In your heart, you can be willing to lose someone, but in your actions, do everything you can to make sure the person feels so loved that he or she would never want to leave.

Okay, how does one do this and not give the impression of being "clingy?"

thanks~

~ aplomado
quote:
Okay, how does one do this and not give the impression of being "clingy?"
aplomando, I will add some thoughts while you wait for JJ?s answer (learned some of these techniques from him): Practice validation, showing respect, honest communication, active listening etc. Most spouses pursue their WAS and cross the boundaries the WAS has set up. This only serves to aggravate the WAS, they feel like their spouse is being needy, clingy or pursuing etc.

When the WAS is given their space, at some point they will need to or want to communicate with their spouse for a variety of reasons and those are the opportunities where the Dber can be empathetic, genuine, validating, respectful, not defensive etc. There is a difference between practicing active listening or using validating techniques and being clingy.

People want to be understood but when they have reached the point of being a WAS, they first want relief and they want their space. The opportunity to demonstrate unconditional love will present itself almost every time. C2H

Committed2Him- "C2H"
quote:
Originally posted by Committed2Him: