Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 8 of 11 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 11
O
O
Originally Posted by ScottB
Now here is where I fail. I have a problem where I look for the approval of others. I am not good with people thinking I'm a jerk - that's where I get looped in.

one of my massive downfalls is the search for the approval of others. It is an easy way for me to be manipulated and its not something that is easy for me to turn off.

Scotty B, I could have written this. This is the main thing I have really worked on changing over the last 6 or so months and I was in a situation last night where I had the opportunity to test myself and I passed with flying colours. And I felt amazing to take that ownership over my life and not let my worry about what other though or wanted to affect me.

Me: 41 W:42
T: 14 M: 11
S: 6

"What happened happened, and couldn't have happened any other way...because it didn't"
S
S
Originally Posted by Ready2Change
Originally Posted by SteveLW
My advice, call her tonight and decisively tell her in no uncertain terms that is over. Do not make excuses. Do not beat around the bush.

I would not initiate contact. If she contacts you, politely state this "I believe it is best if we ________"

You can fill in the blank.

Do not justify your answer. Listen to her and validate. Then follow through with whatever your blank is.

I believe in this case, since it has lingered on for days/weeks, he needs to be decisive, proactive, and put aside his NGS. Call her. Tell her. Stick to it. Listen and validate when she objects. But end the call with her knowing in no uncertain terms that it is over.

M(53), W(54),D(19)
M-23, T-25 Bomb Drop - Dec.23, 2017
Ring and Piecing since March 2018
G
G
Scotty, it does come across narcissistic when you are concerned about others thinking you are a jerk.

The only person who needs to think you are not a jerk is YOU

T
T
Originally Posted by ScottyB