Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
134luck Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi all,

Total newbie here so please excuse my inexperience and long post - first time posting in a forum also.
A bit of background: Last October my husband gave me the ILYBINILWY speech which really did come as a bomb drop as I had no idea how unhappy he had become. I always thought we would be together for ever. Ours is a marriage with very few arguments. We are both conflict avoidant which is probably a lot of our problem. Of course before I found DB I made some wrong moves such as saying I would change, can we work on it etc etc. But my biggest mistake is suggesting marriage counseling. It was a colossal failure as he agreed to go but I soon realised his heart wasn’t in it and the counsellor cemented in his mind that as he was unwilling to work with me that the marriage was dead. He had also gone to individual therapy which told him the same thing.

Over the course of the next few months things steadily got more uncomfortable at home and it felt like we were walking on eggshells around each other. He said he still cared for me and didn’t want to hurt me and equally I felt uncomfortable around him because of course I felt extremely shocked and hurt. During this time he withdrew to the spare room and went out a lot to avoid being around me. All affection stopped. He was adamant about getting his own place and two weeks ago he moved out, so we are now physically separated.

I have tried to give him space and I don’t contact him except to respond to messages about the kids (two D 12 and13). The only time I see him is when he comes to pick them up and I try very hard to present a happy positive demeanour.
This weekend he had the kids stay over for one night. My eldest said that he did ask how I was doing and apparently she said that I was actually a lot calmer and happy. He responded with “that’s cool”. Is this a good sign or not?