OP Offline
S
Hi - newbie here. Novella:

Brief overview of situation:
W (me): 35
H: 27
Married 1 year, together 2 before that, so 3 total
no kids

This first year of marriage has been stressful. I got a new job the month before we were married (09/18) that I knew would be high stress for a year (fun though), we got a new dog (11/18), and built a new house/moved into it (08/19).

I was previously married ages 26-29, D initiated by me because he was an abusive alcoholic. I gave him many chances to turn it around, went to counseling even when I was mostly done, but ultimately, nothing changed so I'd had enough. D filed 07/13. H has no previous marriage.

In the past year, I haven't been dealing with my stress well. Stress eating, becoming obsessed with cleaning new house (for an easy "win" at feeling accomplished/successful), being too tired and feeling bad about my weight gain to want to have sex. H has ADHD that is finally under control, and is generally a sensitive guy. He would say he felt I was condescending to him, and I wouldn't know how to fix this because it was a tone of voice thing that I couldn't hear, and I ultimately didn't feel superior to him so wasn't sure how to fix it. H is thoughtful, sweet, but sometimes would get frustrated because he would put a lot of pressure on trying to make me happy - I am a pretty independent spouse, and we have talked about how he doesn't need to pressure himself for that (especially if I wasn't unhappy to begin with).

H has been in IC since August 19. Originally said he was going for work reasons (stressed), and I believed him based on some of the convos we had. H struggles with ADHD & self esteem. Around 7/19 he finally found a medication that helps with his ADHD (after having tried several).