Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2200315 11/21/11 05:19 PM
L
OP Offline
L
I have floated around on the mid-life crisis boards for years and while what I am currently doing may be considered "piecing", I currently feel drawn to this board. Maybe it is because I can relate to Accruray so much.....I am not sure. I just know I need to vent a little to understanding people and maybe get a new adjusted perspective.

For starters I am a veteran of the whole midlife crisis issue and the personal growth that accommodates such happenings. So I am aware of GAL, etc and do employee these aspects into my life. The real issue is trying to deal with the resentment that is starting to brew inside me. It feels like I have spent many years being respectful and understanding of my wife's position. Probably to far, as in multiple friends have noted "that I was forgotten" and everything became about my wife. No compromise......My therapist actually referred to my experiences as bordering on mental/emotional abuse. For a brief time line;

1995-Met and had a satisfying intimate relationship

1998-Married and started working towards conception (fertility issues forced this issue) and the old "have to have sex now" thing

1999-Son is born....sex life diminishes understandably, but is still a few times per month

2001-Try for second child.....Had a massive fight this time because I really did not enjoy the "have sex right now" thing.

2002-Daughter is born....Sex diminishes more, but once again understandable.

2002-2006-Our intimate life can almost be scheduled to once every 11 weeks. Constant rejection for various reasons begins to wear on my confidence.

2006-2009-Wife has first affair....I become a regular here and focus a lot on personal growth in many areas that needed it.

2009-Second affair...So called friendship...wife has shared details of this one since it was hidden well behind the veil of friendship