Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1602145 09/24/08 05:13 PM
H
OP Offline
H
discovered in discussion with my STBX that he wasn't aware of the temporary orders he received with the papers that where served to him. I said they are in the papers. His response was that he didn't sign anything and therefore could not be held to the orders and only I could be held to the orders. Then he said that he would not abide by the orders and would spend money as he pleases.

He has always paid the mortgage as he has received an allowance from the Navy. His last day in the Navy was Monday and he does not have a job and of course no longer receives an allowance. He can not afford to pay the mortgage and not only seems to care less but is planning to take a leisure trip to New York in two weeks.

I have contacted my Lawyer to file an order to show cause (OSC) however I am new to this process. Will this allow a judge to order him to stop spending. How long does this take. My concern is that since the trip is only a couple weeks away he will have purchased the tickets before the ball even gets rolling. How does this work?

WAW now LBS part I & II
WAW now LBS part III(current)
T: 9 yrs
M: 8 yrs
WAW: Sep 06-Jul 07
LBS: Sep 07-pres.
G
G
I'm not 100% certain, but I think as soon as the order is filed with the clerk, it's immediate.

When was your H served? If it's been 30 days and he hasn't responded to the claim, then he's in default, and you can proceed without him.

Getting over a painful experience is much like crossing monkey bars. You have to let go at some point in order to move forward. ~ Joseph Campbell
H
OP Offline
H
Going forward,

Thanks for your response.

I served him with sep. papers in July and he responded but didn't read one word.

I have an appointment with my lawyer to write up the OSC. I haven't found any information regarding how it enforces the order to cease incurring debt except for the necessities of life.

WAW now LBS part I & II
F