Divorcebusting.com
Posted By: mishka422 New Year, New Goals, New me! - 01/01/14 09:42 PM
I decided my thread was getting too long so I better start a new one before they lock it. Of course, what better day than New Year's Day to start one? grin

Today is a relaxing day and I am spending it watching football and contemplating my next steps for the next year.

As I've said before, I'm not good at setting goals. I'm sure it's out of fear of failure but I'm trying to pick just 2 goals to meet in the next 3 months. I'm hoping that by picking two small goals with a short time limit I may accomplish them. I'm narrowing down what those will be but I'll share them once I decide.

For now, Happy New Year to each and every one of you. I hope it brings you many blessings and lots of new beginnings.
Posted By: Rick1963 Re: New Year, New Goals, New me! - 01/02/14 06:05 PM
Happy New Year. Ummmm I think the trick when setting goals is to make sure they are attainable and have a time frame. If you set goals that are hard to reach you will feel like a failure. Set small goals at 1st. reach them and than move on to bigger things.
Posted By: Underdog Re: New Year, New Goals, New me! - 01/03/14 05:54 AM
Mish,

I actually worked with a Girl Scout troop on goal setting.

What I have found that helps is to identify the goals, and then sublist the things you will do to reach the goal. For example:

I will lose 10 lbs by the end of February
1. I will keep a food journal
2. I will walk 3x/week, and weight lift on other days
3. I will do something fun that gets me off the couch on 1 weekend day that keeps me moving. Like bowling or riding my bike or ice skating.
4. I'll walk 2x/wk on my lunch break

If you can identify the steps you can make that help you focus, it's so much easier to achieve them.

Gineen is right on not making too many. If you do too much, you'll short circuit and bomb out.