Divorcebusting.com

Healing after S/D

Posted By: kas99

Healing after S/D - 01/10/20 10:33 PM

https://www.divorcebusting.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2876578&page=11

K,

If your a CPA how come youíre not making good money?

I was a homemaker for 15 years and had to start over. I'm not even working as a CPA I have a government job with liberal time off, a pension plan, great insurance and I live 10 minutes from work. I could make more money working as a CPA in the city but once I add in the cost of my benefits and commuting costs it's a wash. I'm a single parent and going to have to work until I'm 75 so it's best I stay where I'm at.

It is mind boggling that I can't support myself on this salary. <off to check my budget again>

Re: Healing after S/D - 01/10/20 10:49 PM

If I move to the ghetto and live on ramon noodles I can support myself on what I make. This is my plan once the kids move out on their own so whatever alimony I get will be extra.

Re: Healing after S/D - 01/10/20 11:00 PM

So back to taxes....how did you file while separated? We've lived apart for 8 months, I've paid for half of the expenses, and I have no problems bending rules.
Posted By: job

Re: Healing after S/D - 01/10/20 11:30 PM

I filed separately. My xh didn't realize that when I filed separately, he wouldn't be getting a large refund. In fact, he ended up paying.

Re: Healing after S/D - 01/11/20 04:36 AM

Originally Posted by job
I filed separately. My xh didn't realize that when I filed separately, he wouldn't be getting a large refund. In fact, he ended up paying.

This is brilliant. Love it!!

In my case I'd owe as well so not really something I want to do but am considering it. I want us both to file head of household (he gets one kid and I get two). He'd get the child tax credit but I'd get EIC so we both win. We haven't lived together for 8 months and the rest is up for interpretation. It's all crap anyway I just want to file first and preferably not with him.