Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 7 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
P
P
TD- When you first started posting, my heart ached for you. I work in the medical field and I know how demanding that lifestyle is (i'm not a clinician, just an administrator). What this tells me about you is that you are an incredibly tough worker and you set your standards really high (and why not?!). So, this is just my observation- maybe he inadvertently allowed you to be his parent because of your standards and given your leadership skill set you naturally just filled that role? Maybe he was/is intimidated of you and your success?

I say that because my husband is more successful than myself and there's always been this slight intimidation factor there for me...like i wanted to impress him... but with that, I also gave him a lot of control to direct the relationship and that's never good either.

Re: the dog- I feel for you. H and I share a dog as well, and I love this pup so much. It's really hard to pass him back and forth. The good news is- it's the only opportunity I have to see H at all so I make sure all interactions are pleasant.

Good luck with everything- you are in a tough sitch.

Me- 30's H- 40's
T-10 M-5
I moved out b/c he wanted space- June 15
D filed by H: September 16
V
V
Originally Posted By: TDball
I went on a date this weekend. It was probably a good thing and a bad thing.

The good: I know I wasn't satisfied in my marriage because I always felt like I was my husbands parent, in a way. I didn't feel like he was my partner, since we weren't working towards anything together. It was nice going out with someone who seems more like an equal-someone with a career, who is financially secure, has a retirement account, etc. It reminded me what was missing in my marriage, and how I important those things can be. I resented my husband for making me take on all of the responsibilities, and going out with someone who has more of his life together helped reinforce that,