Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 9 of 11 1 2 7 8 9 10 11
S
S
Yeah be careful here. I am sure anything she spends towards the house in this scenario will come off any monies you receive from the sale. Listen to your L regarding all of this. I am just a logical layman!

M(53), W(54),D(19)
M-23, T-25 Bomb Drop - Dec.23, 2017
Ring and Piecing since March 2018
S
S
One of my adult kids that's divorced has gone through many of those special events in life already. There has only been one large event that was in a public setting with hundreds of people in attendance. Their family and our family did not sit together, and I never saw them until after the event. We said our hellos and acted like we would treat a friendly cashier. There is no animosity between my child's former in-laws and us, but we don't run in the same circles and we don't hold celebrations together. Everyone has moved on, remarried, and have their separate celebrations with the kids. Our GD gets two BD celebrations per year, two Thanksgivings, two Christmases, etc. The two families have managed to work together well in setting days for celebrations. You discover that Christmas or a birthday celebration doesn't have to be on the calendar date, but whenever the family (with grandparents, etc.) can celebrate together. We have one on our side, and they have one on their side. So far, it has worked fine and nobody has tried to be unpleasant or uproot plans for the other family.

If she has a wedding some day, I feel confident we all will be civil, polite, and treat each other respectfully. I have discovered that weddings can be the most trying times in the best of families, so I might need to start praying now. smile If she has children one day, I think both family members will be at the hospital together and looking at the newest generation coming into both sides of her family. (Now I am getting teary-eyed).