Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 10 11
C
cadence Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hi all. Newbie here. This is going to be long.

First of all, I must confess that we're not married. We are/were in a 5 year LTR and bought a home together last year, and were talking about marriage. I will use the term "H" even though he's not my H (though I wanted him to be.) I hope no one kicks me out for my lack of legitimacy for posting on this board because I feel like I need your advice.

We are also not spring chickens. H is turning 50 in just a few weeks. I'm turning 40. I believe his age may be playing into what is happening (MLC)?

We met in 2012 and hit it off instantly. He is divorced with two teen children. We moved pretty slow because of this. I'd call my relationship with his kids as pretty decent, especially given that they are teens and that their mother does not want them to be close with me.

His ex is very high conflict, and historically we've had to attend counseling together when she's on an offensive. When we met, he lived in the same neighborhood as her. She's hostile and clueless about boundaries, so it was a nightmare. I do believe that she emotionally abused him in their marriage and afterward.

He used to appease her to get the harassment to stop, and we went through one breakup in 2014 that was directly caused by his need to appease her. He came back 8-9 months later, telling me he'd loved me all the while and he could see things so much more clearly. He asked me to move in with him a few months after. I didn't agree to it right away, because one of my stipulations was that we had to start looking to move out of that neighborhood within a year or she'd succeed in breaking us up again.