Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 11 1 2 3 4 10 11
M
M
Originally Posted By: Gordie

Re fixing appliances and doing stuff for my W. I think it is going to be very hard for me to stop, even after D. Please hit me with a 2x4, as needed.

Reasons to continue helping: she needs help, money is tight, it helps the kids, it is an act of service/act of love from me to her, better for her to ask me

Reasons to stop helping; she needs to miss me, she needs to feel the consequences of her actions (divorce), she wants to be independent, better for her to ask OM

Where are you going to draw the line?

- when you are divorced?
- when she is dating someone else?
- when you are dating someone else?
- when she is married to someone else?

For me, it was easiest and cleanest to draw the line once we were financially separated.

G
Gordie Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Thanks. Can you tell I'm a newbie? Yes, I need to draw a line and I haven't. I guess start wIth the easiest:

1. If either of us is married, I definitely would not be doing this.

2. If either of us is in a dating R, I don't want to be doing this--I guess this is the point where my R becomes more/just about the kids. If POM's feelings are reciprocal and he dumps his GF for my STBXW, then we could be here quickly.

3. If we are D but neither of us is in a R, then I could see myself being okay with this. If POM's feelings are not reciprocal and/or he is unwilling to leave his GF, then we could be in this state for an extended period of time.

Gordie 40s W 40s M20+ kids
2016 BD W fantasy affair w OM1 I do everything wrong
2017 I start to DB W says TLTL files for D PA w OM2
2018 I do LRT W drops filing and OM2 situation slowly improving
G
Gordie Offline OP
OP Offline
G