Get help from a Divorce Busting® Telephone Coach TODAY! We specialize in helping you get your marriage back on track, even when your spouse has one foot out the door. Don't be discouraged. We can help.
303-444-7004
or 800-664-2435
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#25886 - 10/29/00 03:31 AM ? for wise DBer's or Michele
MJR Offline

Loc: Hanover, WI, USA
Hi to all.

Here's my question:

DBing is supposed to give us the power to change OR's for the better, even without the help, participation, or even knowledge of our spouses.

I have been DBing since June, 2000. I have seen some positive changes in OR since then. I know I have changed my behavior significantly, and he has even acknowledged this to me.

Yet, being human, I do make mistakes. And when I do, he is ready to explode at me. His anger is becoming more frequent and explosive, and it takes less and less to trigger it. I don't think he ever really forgives me.

I have come to the conclusion that he is looking at things through a perspective that blocks out the good times, my positive input and changes, and his negative input, but magnifies the immediate negative thing he sees - so he sees the whole relationship as negative. He does not do this all the time, sometimes he does acknowledge good things, but he NEVER has apologized for any of his behavior, or taken responsibility for his part in things.

So, question is: Can DBing help with this? I am not playing the blame game. I know I can only change myself, and have been doing so. I have not been pointing out his errors to him. I have hoped that by my taking responsibility for myself & my actions, and NOT mentioning his, that he would take that responsibility himself. He has not.

If he is in that negative perspective most of the time, is there really hope for lasting change?

Is there something I am missing here? Something more that I should be doing?

I will appreciate any input that anyone out there has on this.

Thanks,

Melanie