Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#2588518 07/16/15 07:36 AM
L
late30s Offline OP
OP Offline
L
I have been struggling with this for the past five months. I spent a good portion of today reading up on Caliguy's situation and I must tip my hat to him. I have been hanging out around these forums for a couple of months now. Reading up on everyone else's situation, but never posting my own. I've been unsure how to go about this, but after reading his account of what has been happening -- and more importantly his approach, I find myself finally able to post something here.

My wife and I have been together for twenty years and married for nineteen of them. We have four kids together, S20, S18, S16, and D12. About three years ago my wife started to develop a friendship with one of her co-workers. I have been a jealous man in the past and the start of this relationship started ringing alarm bells in my head. It was innocent enough at first, but when I told my wife that this relationship made me uncomfortable, it seemed to only make her want to cling to this guy more. (I have also had control issues in the past and was controlling at this time as well).

Fast forward a few years. He moved to California and had returned. My wife had a new job and assisted him in getting a job with her. This helped to create mounting tension here at home, but at this point I realized my marriage was in trouble. It was at this point I started reflecting on the type of husband I had been and the type of husband that I wanted to be. I found myself initiating fewer and fewer fights, we would still fight but by and large it was her spewing anger at me and me attempting to logically defend my position. I moved completely away from the circular type arguments (the you did this, well I did that because you did this type).