Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 7 of 10 1 2 5 6 7 8 9 10
A
asitis Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Thanks Toots.

It isn't a big deal. Also, a number of the times I've seen the car is when I've been out somewhere (it is summer & I'm a college teacher, so I'm not at work), so if she is even unconsciously hoping I'm where she expects me to be, she's seeing signs that I'm not sitting in the apartment on the shelf where she thinks she left me. I know that even though I'm fairly detached & don't think I have expectations, I notice such things and react despite myself.

On the strolling out, I'd have to wander all the way over to where the pool is (not the direction to where I park my car), have my key card, and come into the pool area and initiate contact. If I'm working out & the kids notice me, or she does, and wants to initiate contact great. Given the pursuit dynamic of the past and her statement about wanting to run away, I'm respecting her request and not initiating contact. If she is hoping I'll stop in, I'll leave her hoping. If she isn't, I'll respect her wish for space. If she is even unconsciously pursuing, I'm doing something right & will let the dynamic continue.

Because of the kids, I have lots of opportunities to touch base when we exchange.

One thing I did decide, is that I should be able to bring the kids to the pool when I have them. I have other activities with them that are our special father-son things, but they do like the pool. Unlike her, I will at least give her a heads up when we exchange. I always look ahead at the weather & she knows this (yes I used to watch the Weather Channel too when we had cable). "Tuesday the weather looks nice, and I was thinking that I'd take the kids to the pool at the apartment. I just wanted to give you a heads up so it doesn't surprise you."

I'm not asking permission, but the apartment was intended to be a haven for the off-duty parent, even if she isn't keeping to that intention, I'm not comfortable doing otherwise.