Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
OP Offline
L
I’m new to all of this and could really use some support. My story: married to my husband for 12 years (together 5 years before that). Me: 36, Him: 37, no kids. He is my best friend, we enjoy spending time together and have always been able to talk through our problems (or so I thought).

Six weeks ago he told me that as he gets closer to 40 he has realized that he hasn’t been doing anything meaningful with his life, that he has not been able to pursue his dreams because he is married to me and that he feels like he can’t be himself with me. He has made some new, younger, adventurous friends that he says have given him the confidence to completely change his life and wants to walk away from our marriage.

Things have gone downhill each week since his initial revelation and I have found out he is having an emotional and physical relationship (he says they have not had sex) with a 22 year old girl who is visiting our town for the summer from Thailand. I have also found a three year plan that he has drawn up which involves filing for divorce, selling our house, traveling to Thailand and eventually living there.

I can see now that there were some serious underlying issues in our marriage that we never dealt with and am committed to working on them, but he says it’s too late and he only thinks of me as a friend, not a wife and doesn't love me anymore. As of right now, he is still living in our house. I know he is hiding things from me and while he is treating me cordially, has completely cut me off from his life.