Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 14 15
M
MrLost Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I'm really not a newbie here, but it's been awhile since I posted. The reason being that it seemed that things were working.
You can read my situation linked below, but, in a nut shell, I got the ILYBNILWY speech about three years ago. We tried to councilors, both of which failed. The first one was just a bad experience, the second was we did nothing to improve our situation.

My wife would ask for divorce and I would ask her to not do it. She would not say anything, but it didn't come up again until...something bad would happen (usually financially) and it would come up again. This happened three times.

Then...

I read DB and started following the steps in that book. We made some progress. Then on November 22nd she told me that she wanted to work it out. She said that we owe it to our children to do everything we could to fix it. She said that she did not want sex right now, but she wanted to act as a married couple in every other way. SHE even suggested that we purchase new wedding bands as a symbolic gesture. At the jewelry store I went to the rest room and when I was rounding the corner she was telling the girl behind the counter the story. She sounded generally excited.

Everything seemed great. I was the happiest I'd been in a long time. Everyone noticed the difference in her, me, and even the kids (5 yr old twins)immediately. However, on Thanksgiving her Uncle, whom she was close to, died unexpectedly. That led into a pretty dreary Christmas. Right after Christmas, I was laid off from my job. Right after New Years her grandfather passed away. Then we both started an accelerated program to get out teaching certifications.

On Jan 3rd, she was sitting there staring and I asked her what was wrong and she said "I can't do this anymore."