Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
"You're more likely to divorce if there are differences in your backgrounds, your likes and dislikes, and interests".

Thoughts on this illussion?

JJ

Read about Divorce Busting® Telephone Coaching here!
JJ...

I am unsure here. I will say there are many, many similarities in my STBX's background:

- We were both raised in Catholic homes
- Both fathers are/were very functional alcoholics
- We grew up in the same geographic area, not far apart
- We had similar educations through HS (attended parochial schools through HS)
- We both were middle children
- We both are technical professionals in the computer/internet industries... he is a systems manager, I am a technical writer/researcher
- We both were political news junkies
- We both enjoyed cooking, museums, and other common interests
- We both are supervisory/managerial level employees with entreprenurial companies
- We both enjoyed some of the same authors and types of reading material... we often shared books.
- We both enjoyed watching NCAA basketball with the family.

Now... that may lead to boredom having to come home to someone who is your "duplicate," I don't know. I would think some dissimilarity would need to exist also. Some differences we each had are:

- I am the much more outgoing of the two, STBX was more shy and quiet
- STBX really enjoyed gardening and outdoor work... I hated it
- STBX was a real workaholic, constantly. I would put in my 40 hours generally because of other things I was interested in, and would only do OT on an infrequent basis.
- STBX was much more conservative politically than I am... I question everything that happens politically, he was a Limbaugh conservative

So... who knows? We're now heading for a D. He's living a lifestyle beyond my wildest imagination and has done some of the oddest and (MHO) stupidest crap imaginable... something I never would have expected out of someone with his background.

OP Offline