Divorcebusting.com
Posted By: ahmeds Looking for Support - 05/09/16 04:35 PM
I've been fighting to save my marriage for close to 6 months now. I've definitely made mistakes along the way, I learned they were mistakes by reading Michelle's book.
I am afraid it's too little to late for me. How do I know when to just stop fighting? We've been on this roller coaster for over a year, my husband had an ongoing affair most of 2015, and by the end of the year, he demanded a separation (this was our second separation in 2015).
He is pretty mean at this point, and I'm not sure how much more I can take. I stuck by his side through the affair, and now I feel taken advantage of. Like since he knew I was sticking around, he kept the affair going because he knew he I would never leave him.
Now he's just saying things like he doesn't want me, he doesn't want to stay married to me, how he's not going to be forced to stay, and that there's no turning back for him at this point. He gave me divorce paperwork yesterday, and I became very anxious. After saying all those mean things, he came back and consoled me, acted normal (and loving) in order to get me to calm down.
After separating in November, we began seeing a very good (solution oriented) therapist, and we made great progress, but about 3 weeks ago, he said he wanted to finalize the divorce, despite all the progress we made, he went against agreements we made in therapy. I just need to know if I should stop fighting to save my marriage. Is it already long gone? What can I do to help myself? Any advice would be appreciated.
Posted By: Cadet Re: Looking for Support - 05/09/16 07:23 PM
Welcome to the board

Sorry you are here but you will meet some wonderful people here and get some great advice.

The first thing you should do is be sure to read the Divorce Remedy (DR) book by MWD
http://www.mcssl.com/store/mwdtc2014/
http://divorcebusting.com/sample_book_chapters.htm

and Michele's articles