Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2750106 07/07/17 03:07 PM
S
OP Offline
S
I have been divorced for over 7 years. I was on this forum daily for over a year – first when we started to have problems, then during counseling, up to the point when it became clear the marriage was over. Once we began negotiating terms and planning the split, I stopped reading and posting here. I wanted to come back and offer some encouragement to all of you who are in the thick of it. I have had some painful experiences in my life, and my divorce brought that pain right to the surface, and every fear, every insecurity, every wound became raw and persistent. I thought I was going to die from the pain. When I finally realized it was over forever, I truly believed I would never feel happiness again. I literally thought my life was over. My two little babies, who at the time were 3 and 5, were so innocent and helpless, that it broke my heart into a million pieces every time I looked at them, and imagined what they would have to go through as we moved into separate homes and began separate lives.

I don’t know what triggered it, but I was inspired to come back on here and offer my post-divorce perspective. I hope my comments can help someone in some small way. The first thing I want to say is that you can get through this, and there are very specific things you can do to achieve a more positive outcome. Take what helps and ignore the rest:

1. YOU WILL GET THROUGH THIS: Unless you are suffering from long-term depression, you will feel happy again, and possibly happier than you ever thought imagined. It is virtually impossible to see it when you are in thick of it, but there is a beautiful light on the other side of divorce, as long as you don’t let yourself become bitter, cultivate your anger, blame, or shame. Marriage is really, really hard – and when marriages end, it is important to focus on the opportunities that lie ahead instead of the mistakes of the past